Busy busy bee.

Over the last few months I have been very busy. After Septmeber ended I decided to focus on recuperating and re-energising. The fundraising event at work was a massive success and we not only managed to raise loads of awareness but Β£453 from online and in store donations. Not bad for a weeks work!

The interview with YorkMix went really well, and the response was yet again amazing. Chloe wrote an amazing article that really helped to share awareness. Feel free to have a read by clicking here.Β I was also interviewed by MinisterFM and featured on the radio throughout ITP awareness week. It was great to see hear the awareness being spread. The ITP Awareness video has also now had over 1,700 views! It’s crazy to know that many people have watched it, and know that many people now know what ITP is.

I’ve been very excited about my America trip over the last few weeks since my passport arrived. I’ve been trying to save as much money as possible and work as much as I can to save enough money to go. A close work colleague of mine suggested starting a online campaign on a website called FundMyTravel. Basically you start a campaign and people can help by donating money to make your trip possible.

At first I didn’t like the idea of it. I don’t like the idea of asking for help, especially from people I do not know. I hate receiving sympathy as i often feel underserving of it. Although after a while of deliberating I decided to go ahead and do it. It is a long shot, but by creating the campaign I am allowing myself to embrace my illness, and lay the first stepping stones to actually getting to America. Once I had persuaded myself, I had already done the hardest part. I have already recieved two donations which is amazing considering I wasn’t expecting any at all.

FundMyTravel have also contacted me as they are interested in doing a interview with me for their own blog page. I was stunned to receive their email. It is very rewarding to know that what you are doing is being recognised, and the hard work is paying off. Hopefully the post will be online soon so I can share it with you all.

I’m back at the hospital soon for my counts, so I will make sure to pop back again soon to let you all know the (hopefully good) news/counts. Feel free to have a read of the articles and to check out my campaign page.

Much love, Katie xxz

Posted in ITP

Leave a Reply

